This article will explain how you can record your Mixlr events, how to toggle this feature on or off, and where you can find your recording when your live event has ended.
TIP: all recordings created in the Mixlr desktop app are 192kbps MP3 files.
To get to the recording settings (REC) button, open your audio settings selecting the mixer icon.
TIP: this is accessible from both the events screen (above) and the broadcast screen, meaning you can set up your audio before you start your live event and adjust as needed while you're on air.
The REC button controls whether your live event will be recorded or not. When the button is red your broadcast will be recorded:
When it's gray, the broadcast will not be recorded:
It's also possible to toggle the REC button on and off when you're already on air. Only the parts of your event for which the REC button was on will be recorded.
Find your recorded broadcasts
When you finish your live event, if you have been recording it you'll see a pop up message asking if you want to view the recording.
If you click 'Yes' you will open your Recordings window.
Alternatively you can open this window at any time by clicking the Recordings tab and clicking 'Go to recordings'.
Your recordings will be saved to a local folder on your computer. From the Recordings folder you can access these recordings by clicking the 'Show' button.
This will bring up the local folder where your recordings are saved, with the recording that you've selected being highlighted.
You can now copy this file to edit it, rename it, and upload it elsewhere.
TIP: do not: remove the recordings from this folder; rename them; or edit them in any way. This will prohibit you from publishing the recording to your Mixlr showreel later.
Why is my recording missing?
If a recording is missing from your Recordings folder it may be because that live event was run from on a different computer. Because your recordings are saved on the computer's local folder, you will only be able to access the recordings of the events that were broadcast on the computer that you're currently using.
Deleting your recordings
If you deleted a recording via the Recordings window this will permanently delete the recording from your local drive (or at least send it to your Recycle Bin), so don't click here unless you're sure you want to delete the file.