By default the Mixlr desktop app will record your broadcasts. This article will explain how you can toggle this feature on or off, and where you can find your recording when your broadcast has ended.
TIP: all recordings created in the Mixlr desktop app are 192kbps MP3 files.
The REC button controls whether your broadcast will be recorded or not. When the button is red your broadcast will be recorded; if you click this and the button changes to the background gray color the broadcast will not be recorded.
It's also possible to toggle the REC button on and off when you're already broadcasting. Only the parts of your broadcast for which the REC button was on will be recorded.
Find your recorded broadcasts
When you finish your broadcast, if you have been recording it you'll see a pop up message asking if you want to view the recording.
If you click 'Yes' you will open your Recordings window.
Alternatively you can open this window at any time by clicking the Recordings tab and clicking 'Go to recordings'.
Your broadcasts will be recorded to a local folder on your computer. From the Recordings folder you can access these recordings by clicking the 'Show' button.
This will bring up the local folder where your recordings are saved, with the recording that you've selected being highlighted.
You can now copy this file to edit it, rename it, and upload it elsewhere.
TIP: do not: remove the recordings from this folder; rename them; or edit them in any way. This will prohibit you from publishing the recording to your Mixlr showreel later.
Why is my recording missing?
If a recording is missing from your Recordings folder it may be because that broadcast was made on on a different computer. Because your recordings are saved on the computer's local folder, you will only be able to access the recordings of the broadcasts that were made on the computer that you're currently using.
Deleting your recordings
If you deleted a recording via the Recordings window this will permanently delete the recording from your local drive (or at least send it to your Recycle Bin), so don't click here unless you're sure you want to delete the file.